Leave a comment

2015 Communication Student Recognition Dinner

Last night, April 21, 2015, was the Second Annual Student Recognition Dinner. Students invovled in Lambda Pi Eta, Comm Ambassadors, Student Workers, and our graduate students were recognized for their hard work. Awards were also given to the Outstanding Comm Studies Student, Outstanding Corp. Comm Student, and the Outstanding Graduate Student. The top papers for Data-Based Research and Case Study were also presented. LPH gave their award for honorary faculty member. Finally, Kay Coomes was honored as the Alumna of the Year.

Leave a comment

WKU forensics team wins NFA national speech & debate title


Several of our Communication Majors helped to earn this National Title.

Originally posted on WKU News:

The WKU forensics team won both the National Forensic Association National Tournament championship and the National Forensic Association Lincoln-Douglas Debate National championship, hosted this year by Ohio University in Athens, Ohio, over the April 16-20 weekend.

WKU sent 47 competitors with a total of 185 entries to the national tournament. Of the total entries, 82 advanced to quarterfinal rounds, 40 advanced to the semifinal round, and 22 events made it to the final round of competition.

WKU was crowned team sweepstakes champion with 797 points, while the University of Texas at Austin placed second with 527 points, and Bradley University placed third with 418.5 points. Other top 10 schools included Ball State University, Illinois State University, Eastern Michigan University, Wayne State University and Arizona State University. The NFA National Tournament hosted 79 schools and more than 1,700 entries this year.

The team was also crowned team sweepstakes champion in Lincoln-Douglas…

View original 1,370 more words

Leave a comment

Exiled Generations

‘Exiled Generations’ written by our own Carl Kell has wide appeal

‘Exiled Generations’ has wide appeal – Bowling Green Daily News: Features.

Leave a comment

World Cafe

Dr. Garmon’s Intercultural Communication class, COMM 463, along with Dr. Schiess’s Navitas Class held a World Cafe discussion on March 31, 2015.

Leave a comment

WKU faculty member honored for paper on changes in parent-teacher communication


Congratulations to Dr. Blair Thompson on being honored for his Top Paper at the Central States Communication Association Conference!

Originally posted on WKU News:

WKU Associate Professor of Communication Blair Thompson will receive the Top Paper in Communication Education award from the Central States Communication Association for his work on The Changing Nature of Parent-Teacher Communication: Mode Selection in the Smartphone Era.

Blair Thompson Blair Thompson

“This award is a real testament to quality scholarship,” said Jimmie Manning, CSCA Executive Director. “This year we received many high-quality papers, and only the very best could be selected to present at the conference. Being at the top of that pile says a lot!”

The paper focuses on parent-teacher communication that is evolving due to smartphones and other new communication technologies. Dr. Thompson, who co-authored the paper with Clemson professor Joseph P. Mazer, formed a study with 1,349 parents to assess the frequency and importance of parent-teacher communication across modes. The data revealed an increase in parents’ preference for frequent e-mail communication as well as for emerging modes…

View original 143 more words

Leave a comment

Mrs. Harriet Downing

Mrs. Harriet Downing, 92, is the wife of the late Dr. Dero Downing, 4th President of WKU from 1969-1979. She came to speak to Dr. Mize Smith’s COMM 362 class, Advanced Organizational Communication, on Wednesday, April 1, about how student life has changed since she was a student here in the 1940’s and when her husband served as president.

Leave a comment

How to Make an Advising Appointment

It’s that time of year again! Have you made your advising appointment? Click below to find out how to set up your appointment!

How to Make an Advising Appt | Piktochart Infographic Editor.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

%d bloggers like this: