2014 John Lyne Speech Contest


Close to thirty competitors met on May 9, 2104, presenting persuasive speeches prepared in COMM 145 and 161. A first rate set of judges, including coaches from the world and national champion WKU Forensic team, evaluated and ranked the first and second round of speeches. Celebrity judges John Lyne (Professor and Director of Graduate Studies at the University of Pittsburgh, department alumnus and award donor), Larry Winn (Emeritus Professor of the WKU Department of Communication), Dean David Lee (Dean of Potter College of Arts and Letters), Blair Thompson (Co-director of COMM 145 and 161) and Helen Sterk (Head of the Department of Communication) chose the top winners.

Representing the best speeches in COMM 145 were

¨ First place: Tabitha Heller.    Instructor: Patricia Witcher. Glasgow campus.

¨ Second place: Brittany Murphy. Instructor: Donna Schiess. Main campus.

¨ Third place: Sydney Moad. Instructor: Gina Lyon. Dual credit student.

Representing the best speeches in COMM 161 were

¨ First place: Erica Plummer.         Instructor: Jessica McClanahan. Main campus.

¨ Second place: Elvis Meskovic.    Instructor: Gayle Allison. Main  campus.

¨ Third place: McKinze Vowels.    Instructor: Stacey Gish. Main     campus.

Congratulations are due to everyone who competed. Being nominated as the best speaker from a class is an honor. Competing creates new skills.

And it is an honor to win. Congratulations go to all of the students who took first, second or third place.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s