Lambda Pi Eta Spring Update

This past November, Lambda Pi Eta members Maggie Shelton and Taylor Hillard were able to accompany other WKU professors, graduate, and undergraduate students to the 101st Annual NCA Convention in Las Vegas. At this conference, they were able to learn about current research that is being done in the field of communication, as well as make connections to other students and professionals in the communication field.

Lambda Pi Eta, the Department of Communication’s Honors Society, strives to recognize, foster and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies. Members of Lambda Pi Eta participate in and contribute to events within the Communication Department and the university, as well as events with the National Communication Association (NCA).

New members are invited to join each year. This spring, Lambda Pi Eta invitations were sent out to eligible students. To be eligible to join Lambda Pi Eta, students must have completed 60 hours of college credit, 12 of which must be in the communication discipline. These students must have a 3.0 GPA overall and a 3.25 GPA within in the Communication discipline. Thirteen students accepted the invitation to join Lambda Pi Eta, and these students were inducted into the honors society on March 22nd. Congratulations to the following new members of Lambda Pi Eta: Hayley Armstrong, Sydney Bickett, Rachel Cato, Torrey Cazeault, Megan Cole, Cathryn Ellis, Haywood Hogan, Abigail O’Bryan, Emily Pride, Jessica Powell, Cody Pruitt, Courtney Tucker, and Rebecca Whaley.

Lambda Pi Eta students attend the Department of Communication Student Recognition Dinner

On April 19th, several Lambda Pi Eta officers and members attended the Communication Department Student Recognition Dinner. Lambda Pi Eta presented new members with their pins and certificates and recognized senior members with Lambda Pi Eta graduation stoles. The officers also had the pleasure of honoring Ms. Laura Wagoner with the Outstanding Faculty Member Award for her contributions to the chapter and its activities here at WKU.

Lambda Pi Eta officer elections took place late this spring. The newly elected officers are Taylor Hillard, President; Rachel Cato, Vice President; Courtney Tucker, Treasurer; Hayley Armstrong, Secretary; Emily Pride, Scholarship Officer. These outstanding new officers are going to do great things for the Department of Communication over the next year!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s